Australian Student Visa (Subclass 500): CoE, Genuine Student Evidence and What It Costs From 1 July 2026
A practical walkthrough for students holding an Australian offer: get the CoE first, answer the Genuine Student questions with evidence, budget the AUD 2,500 charge, meet English and health requirements, and lodge early enough for today's processing priorities.
TL;DR
If you are holding an offer from an Australian institution, the order of operations is fixed: enrol, receive your Confirmation of Enrolment (CoE), and only then apply for the Student visa (subclass 500). Applications made from inside Australia must include a CoE at the time of lodgement — without one the application is invalid. What carries the file after that is evidence: answers to the Genuine Student questions backed by documents attached in ImmiAccount, English language evidence from a secure test centre, health examinations arranged either before or after lodgement depending on the My Health Declarations service, and enough lead time before your course starts. From 1 July 2026 the visa application charge is from AUD 2,500 per application. What follows is general information rather than migration advice; case-specific advice belongs with a registered migration agent.
The CoE comes before the visa form
A CoE is issued by your Australian education or training provider after you enrol; you need one before you can apply, and study then happens under a visa that can be granted for up to six years in line with your enrolment. Treat the CoE as the anchor document of the whole application — it identifies the course, the provider and the dates that the rest of your evidence has to line up with. Before uploading it, read the personal details line by line against your own identity documents; administrative mismatches are exactly the kind of avoidable flaw that slows an otherwise clean file.
If you plan to study more than one course, you are looking at course packaging. You can apply to study two or more courses on one subclass 500 where there is clear progression from one to the next, and you need a CoE for each course. The final course in the package becomes your main, or principal, course of study. The gaps between courses must be less than two calendar months, although a longer gap of three to four months is allowed in the circumstances Study Australia sets out.
The CoE duty does not end at lodgement. If it changes while your visa is still being assessed, attach the new one yourself through ImmiAccount as soon as you can; if you already hold a student visa, your provider supplies the new CoE to the department directly. Be aware of one trap: a new CoE for study at a lower AQF course level may require you to apply for a new student visa.
Where the Genuine Student requirement decides the case
The Genuine Student (GS) requirement applies to student visa applications lodged on or after its commencement date, replacing the Genuine Temporary Entrant (GTE) requirement. To be granted a visa you must satisfy the GS criterion or the GS dependent criterion. Every applicant must be a genuine applicant for entry and stay as a student, and must be able to demonstrate an understanding that studying in Australia is the primary reason for applying for a student visa.
The most consequential difference from GTE is stated plainly: GS recognises that genuine students may develop skills Australia needs and may later choose to apply for permanent residence, and future intentions of that kind do not count against an applicant. You are not required to disclaim a future in Australia; you are required to show that study is the reason for coming.
The online application form asks you to address the criteria directly. Expect to cover:
- Details of your current circumstances, including ties to family, community, employment and economic circumstances.
- Why you wish to study this course in Australia with this particular education provider, including your understanding of the intended course's requirements and of studying and living in Australia.
- One further question for applicants who have held a student visa or who are applying in Australia from a non-student visa.
Home Affairs prefers these responses inside the application form rather than in a separate attached GS statement, and all responses must be in English. You still must attach supporting documents to ImmiAccount, and the department gives more weight to statements supported by evidence. The listed evidential expectations include details of your current employer and company address, the nature of your personal ties with reasons for not studying in your home country if a similar course is available there, and documents showing employment or business activities for the 12 months before lodging. If political and civil unrest or military service commitments in your home country present a significant incentive to leave, you must give reasons and supporting evidence. Everything is weighed against your overall personal circumstances.
Assessment also takes into account whether the course is consistent with your current level of education and whether it will help you obtain or improve employment prospects in your home country or another country, your compliance with visa conditions, your visa and travel history for Australia and other countries, previous visa applications, and any visa refusals or cancellations. In practice, a statement that names the specific units, entry requirements, cost of living and career use of the course reads as credible; a statement that praises Australian education in general does not.
Money: the charge, the concessions, and what the numbers don't cover
From 1 July 2026, student visa fees are from AUD 2,500 per visa application. A lower visa cost applies in limited circumstances — including to eligible Pacific Island and Timor-Leste citizens, eligible ASEAN citizens, and applicants in the ELICOS and Non-Award sector who lodge a valid Student visa application. To work out what your own visa will cost, use the Visa Pricing Estimator; note that the estimator does not take into account the other costs involved. Those separate costs are real — health examinations, for instance, are paid by you.
On financial capacity itself, be careful what you trust. The official material supplied for this guide addresses the visa application charge and related concessions but does not state a 12-month living-costs figure or a list of acceptable fund documents, so no such amount or list is repeated here. Verify the current requirement on the Department of Home Affairs' own student visa pages and build your evidence to that standard before paying the application charge, rather than relying on numbers circulating in student forums. The same applies to any later decision to convert figures between currencies: use the amount the department publishes.
English language evidence and health examinations
English proficiency evidence exists to manage immigration risk and to ensure visa holders can participate fully in the Australian community. Two rules catch people out early. Tests must take place in a secure testing centre, and the department does not accept evidence from tests delivered completely online — the remote-proctored or at-home formats. And the set of tests approved for Australian visa purposes changed: results from a test completed before the change may still be valid for up to three years, depending on the required test scores for the visa and the applicable test eligibility timeframes. Specifically for IELTS, results from a test taken on or before 6 August 2025 may be used as evidence of English proficiency.
Tests currently accepted, taken at a secure test centre, include IELTS Academic, IELTS General Training, PTE Academic, TOEFL iBT, CELPIP General, the Michigan English Test and OET. TOEFL iBT candidates must select the pathway Home Affairs specifies for Australian visa purposes, because results not registered under that pathway may not be accepted. The required level is not uniform — you must check what level of English you need and what evidence you must provide through the eligibility page of the visa you are applying for. The relevant legislative instruments are the Migration (Evidence of Functional English Language Proficiency) Instrument 2025 (LIN 25/014) and the Migration (Specification of Language Tests, Test Scores and Passports) Instrument 2025 (LIN 25/016). Score thresholds by sector were not given in the material relied on here, so read them off the eligibility page for your own course.
Health is arranged separately. The My Health Declarations (MHD) service lets you complete health examinations before submitting a visa application, provided the visa you intend to apply for is listed in the service. Health examination results are generally valid for 12 months, so if you examine early and your application is delayed you may have to complete them again — which is why Home Affairs recommends checking its processing times page before deciding to use MHD. You pay for the examinations yourself, and any change in your circumstances after submitting the form should be reported to the panel clinic at your appointment. Family members migrating with you can be included on your form; do not include those who are not migrating. If your subclass does not appear as an option in MHD, wait until after you apply — you will be advised if health examinations are required.
Lodge online, and lodge early
Applications are lodged online, and documents including your GS supporting evidence and any updated CoE are attached through ImmiAccount. Since GS evidence and English evidence differ by course and sector, assemble those attachments before opening the form rather than racing the clock inside it.
On timing, expect guidance rather than a promise. The processing time guide tool shows times for recently decided applications and is explicitly a guide only, not specific to your application. Home Affairs publishes median processing times for key visa categories, updates the information regularly as new data becomes available, and warns that some processing locations are currently experiencing delays, so an application may take longer than the published times. Processing times do vary by many reasons, including application complexity, and deciding older applications increases processing times. Offshore applications are processed according to a Ministerial Direction: those lodged before 14 November 2025 are processed under Ministerial Direction 111, and those lodged on or after 14 November 2025 under Ministerial Direction 115. The department's standing recommendation is to lodge well in advance of course commencement and include all supporting documentation. Given result validity windows — health results valid for 12 months, English results potentially valid for up to three years — the sensible sequence is to be exam-ready early and lodgement-ready earlier.
After you lodge: conditions, changes and further study
A granted subclass 500 comes with conditions, and Study Australia's page sets them out alongside study types and work restrictions. The specific work-condition figures were not stated in the material supplied here, so read the conditions attached to your own grant rather than assuming a number. The enrolment side is equally binding: if your new CoE is for study at a lower AQF course level you may need a new student visa.
If you are already in Australia on a student visa and need more time, you can apply for an additional Student visa from inside Australia to complete further study — and you must apply for a new Student visa even if there is still time remaining on your original one. Those onshore applications now require a CoE, and an application without one is invalid. Students outside Australia with a genuine intention to study are welcome to apply for a Student visa offshore.
Questions students ask before lodging
What exactly do I do first: accept the offer or apply for the visa?
Accept and enrol. You enrol with the Australian education or training provider first, then apply for the student visa after the provider issues your Confirmation of Enrolment. No CoE means no valid onshore application.
Do I need a separate Genuine Student statement?
Home Affairs prefers that you answer the GS questions inside the online application form rather than attaching a separate statement, and all responses must be in English. What you must also do is attach supporting documents in ImmiAccount, because greater weight is given to statements supported by evidence.
Will saying I might apply for permanent residence later hurt my case?
No. The GS requirement explicitly recognises that genuine students may develop skills Australia needs and may later choose to apply for permanent residence, and future intentions of this kind do not count against an applicant. What does matter is demonstrating that studying in Australia is the primary reason for the visa application.
I am already in Australia on a different visa — can I apply here?
Students already in Australia on a Student visa can apply for an additional Student visa for further study, applying from inside Australia, and must apply for a new visa even if time remains on the original one. If you are applying from a non-student visa, there is an additional GS question for you, and a CoE is required at application time.
How far ahead of my course start date is early enough?
There is no single published window. The guidance available is a processing-time guide covering recently decided applications and not your own file, plus the recommendation to lodge well in advance of course commencement with all supporting documentation. Combine that with health examination results generally being valid for 12 months and late-2025 offshore processing priorities, and the answer is: earlier than feels necessary.
How this was sourced
The factual statements above come from three official publishers and no other: the Australian Department of Home Affairs (immi.homeaffairs.gov.au) pages for the Student visa (subclass 500) visa listing, the Genuine Student requirement, English language visa requirements, Visa processing times, and When to have health examinations; and Study Australia (studyaustralia.gov.au), Student visa (subclass 500). None of those pages displayed a publication or last-updated date when they were captured, so no recency claim is attached to them here; the two dated anchors used — 14 November 2025 (Ministerial Direction boundary for offshore applications) and 1 July 2026 (start of the AUD 2,500 minimum charge) — plus the IELTS date of 6 August 2025 are quoted exactly as those pages state them. Figures, thresholds and requirements that were not present in that material, including the living-costs amount, the English score levels by sector and the work-condition limits, have deliberately not been filled in from elsewhere. Check those against the relevant Home Affairs eligibility page before you lodge.
